Monday, August 12, 2019

Fun, Fantastical Adventure an Engaging Story Even Reluctant Readers Will Enjoy

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Everyone in the village knows the thick forest that looms at the edge of town is full of deep, dark magic.  Tales abound of strange creatures lurking in its depths, just waiting to ensnare too-curious children with their monstrous claws.  The most cynical may think the stories are only that, but even the strangest of cautionary yarns are often based in truth ...

What the townspeople don't realize is that the Wild Wood is losing its magic.  Almost thirteen years ago, a goblin named Kull was tasked with performing an ancient ritual that would restore the balance between the magical and non-magical worlds.  He botched the simple task of switching a rare and powerful goblin changeling with a human baby; the changeling so perfectly mimicked his human counterpart that no one has ever been able to tell the difference between the boys.  Whispered rumors have always hinted that one of the twins is not exactly like the other, but in a town that delights in superstitious stories and paranoid rants, what's one more?

When Cole and Tinn Burton receive a puzzling message from Kull begging for their help and beckoning them into the woods, the boys can't resist the promise of adventure.  Unaware that a dark presence is luring them deeper and deeper into danger, the twins revel in meeting colorful forest folk and enjoying the most diverting of quests.  As their journey brings them ever closer to trouble unlike any they've ever known, the boys must work together, harnessing all their courage, to save not just a magical forest but also themselves and everyone they love. 

Changeling, the first book in a new fantasy series by William Ritter, offers kids a fun read that's exciting but not too scary.  It features a pair of delightful heroes, as well as a supporting cast of intriguing story "people" to keep the tale interesting.  Through it all, the book teaches important lessons about loyalty, love, and belonging.  Even reluctant readers should dig this engaging, enjoyable adventure.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scary scenes/scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Changeling from the generous folks at Algonquin in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

3 comments:

  1. This sounds intriguing and I like that the goblin fumbled the switch. This sounds like a good read and one that I might try to talk my 9 year old into reading.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a good start to a series. I am always looking for good middle grade series to recommend to my teacher/librarian friends.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin